Best Comic Book Stores for Manga and Anime Fans Near the MbyMontcalm

0
309
comic-book-store

Fans of Manga and Anime have good reason to be excited when they visit London, because it’s a great place to find something new or pick up a rare collectable. There’s a wealth of comic book stores in the city, well-stocked with finds which span a wide range of different genres. Here’s our pick of the very best within reach of the Montcalm…

Gosh! Comics

1 Berwick Street, Soho 

Regarded by many as the best comic book store in London, this is a fantastic place to go for everything from graphic novels to Anime and Manga. It’s stocked to the rafters with comics, and the friendly, knowledgeable staff will be more than happy to help guide you to anything you’re looking for – or even introduce you to something new! If you’re visiting the M Hotel Shoreditch and ready to go comic hunting, then there is no better place to start your quest. Gosh! Comics also hosts lots of events and signings, so be sure to check out what’s happening here during your stay – you might be able to get your latest purchase signed by its creator.

Orbital Comics 

8 Great Newport Street, London

This is another of London’s most popular comic book venues, particularly for rarer and lesser-known comics. If you’re on the hunt for something specific, this is a wonderful place to check, and one of the most likely to be able to help. Within easy reach of the M Montcalm Tech City, Orbital Comics stocks imported comics and back-issues as well as those which run on only a limited release. For true collectables, be sure to head here and rummage through the stacks.

Forbidden Planet 

179 Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Billed as the best-known comic and sci-fi store in the world, Forbidden Planet has a well-earned reputation for excellence, and continues to impress in its London incarnation. Close enough to the M Hotel Shoreditch for you to reach the venue with ease, there’s a wide variety of merchandise here, including comics, Manga and Anime. If you can’t find something, the staff will be happy enough to point you in the right direction – and Forbidden Planet also hosts regular events throughout the year.

Mega City Comics

18 Inverness Street, Camden Town, London

A smaller but nonetheless well-loved comic book store in Camden, Mega City Comics is known for offering great advice to those seeking something new and has plenty of knowledgeable staff members ready to help you discover your next favourite comic. The back-issues here are not as extensive as at some larger comic book stores, but that doesn’t stop it from being an impressive place to explore while you’re in London. The store first opened in 1981, so it’s one of the major mainstays of London’s comic book scene. The store in Camden Town dates back to 1987 and has since developed a significant following amongst local comic book fans.